Final Analyzation:


After reading Letters from the End of the World: A Firsthand Account of the Bombing of Hiroshima by Toyofumi Ogura I could finally understand the despair and utter defeat felt by the japanese during World War 2. I wonder if the U.S. felt any sorrow for Japan? That was the country that did kill 2,403 american citizens on the attack of pearl harbor, but was it really worth the feeling of revenge to drop a bomb of indefinite proportion and kill 66,000 people. We may have been at war (which doesn't justify either side) but those are still human lives being wasted over conflict. I suffered a loss of one family member due to a drive-by shooting where he was an innocent bystander sleeping on the sofa in his own home. I could only imagine how Ogura felt when half of the people he ever knew were killed living in their own country. I also believe Ogura made a wonderful appeal to pathos by writing the book as letters to his deceased wife. They are his own personal memories and descriptions of the tragedy. Overall the book was interesting and after reading it I have a new look on 

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.